For who use CdC planetarium to get target coords

Like for the object, CdC author have decide to change things in Server setting in the last release.
Before working always in J2000 coords epoch, now he added a option to use the JNow or force J2000. Please modify your setting to “Force J2000” if you have different kind of coordinate system than the CdC default. Voyager work in J2000 for pointing like all plate solving systems.

https://voyager.tourstar.net/index.php?title=Planetarium_Setup#Cartes_Du_Ciel_Setup

All the best
LO

Hi Leo,

I’m new to Voyager (currently using in Demo mode to evaluate) and finding that Cartes Du Ciel is returning incorrect target coordinates when using ‘Fast Find’ in On The Fly, no matter what I try. I saw this post from you dated last December - I’ve tried setting CDC to ‘Force J2000’ and also ‘Current chart coordinate system’, but both still cause Voyager’s ‘Fast Find’ operation to show wrong coordinates! I’ve checked as many obvious settings within both programmes, but just can’t seem to resolve. CDC itself is displaying the correct coordinate information of an object, either when selecting directly within CDC or after having requested a ‘Fast Find’ request from Voyager …

A SESAME look-up successfully returns the correct coordinates, but as I will normally not have any internet access I won’t be able to use this.

I’m using latest versions of both Voyager (2.2.13) and CDC (4.2.1) …

I’ve probably just made a newbie mistake and got a setting wrong somewhere, in either (or both!) programmes - any advice you could suggest for me to check?

Many thanks

Hi richbandit,

code for CdC is really old so I dont think there is something to fix if they don’t have changed anything.
I installed the 64 bit version of CdC 4.2.1 just now and leave all by default and seems to work without problem.

Search with Fast find in CdC of M31:

Search with Sesame of M31:

This is the default setting in Cdc: