Question about using filters with Voyager in an Array

I am new to Voyager’s array capabilities and I’m just starting to research how it works and how to make it run properly. I bought two new 61mm scopes and a “side by side” setup just for this project, obviously there will be more to acquire.

It seems to me that running an array requires that each camera have a full set of filters. I was hoping to split the filters between the cameras so that camera1 could shoot with an Ha and at the same time camera2 could be shooting with an OIII, for example. But the way that voyager focuses the second camera is through offsets, it doesn’t actually go through a focusing routine, so now I’m not so sure if I can have two different filter on the two cameras at the same time.

My purpose of wanting to shoot with two different filter is purely to save costs, as you know, a good set of filters are not what one would call inexpensive.

So my question is simple. Can Voyager focus camera1 with an Ha filter (for example) and then use the offset data to focus camera2 which would be using a different filter?

I am just starting out on this adventure of using arrays and I have a lot to learn so please have patience. But if all works out well I will be setting up more arrays, for me the advantages are to numerable to ignored.

Miguel :sunglasses:

I’m sure Leo will correct me if I’m wrong but the way I remember it is that each camera in the array will carry out its own focusing routine. So the focus result from camera1 will not affect the focus result from camera2.

For each camera you have to define one filter that will always be used for the focus run, all other filters in that camera will be set via the offset values.

So I think the trick is to have a broadband filter in each filter wheel which will be used for focusing, as this will be much quicker than doing a focus run with a narrowband filter. So for example if you have a full set of LRGB and Ha/OIII/NII you could split them: