Smarter Telegram bot

Hey all,

I’ve been using voyager for roughly 6 months so far, and I love it a lot! Especially the telegram message support in dragscript, makes my life much easier to track the progress, without having to sit in front of my computer all night.

However, I also find that the capability / flexibility of the telegram bot is … a bit limited. So I wrote something with my friend Kun, and would like to share that with you all as well.

Our project can be found on github: https://github.com/sly9/VoyagerTelegramBot

This simple python program behaves as a standard web dashboard client, and it listens to all the updates it receives, including the new images and all kinds of logs and updates, then it forwards some important ones to telegram, so that you can get real time alerts.
Screenshots always explains it self better than words:

The major benefit of this bot is:

• You don’t have to keep your browser open all the time any more
  • It generates nice stats charts of for each sequence running in the drag script
  • It filters log messages, and only informs you about the critical ones

This project is still at early stage, and I hope you find it interesting and try it out :smiley:

Any suggestions or pull requests are highly appreciated!

Best,
Liuyi

9 Likes

I can only upload one picture at a time…

This is a screenshot of ‘error message’ – much easier to find, and not too spammy either

Each exposure will have their own preview saved to telegram too – no compression is done to preserve the quality.

2 Likes

This is fantastic! Very cool. I’ll be eager to try it out.

Gabe

1 Like

Fantastic Liuyi and Kun… thank you so much for sharing with us. This show power of Application Server in Voyager. I’m sure you have started a big thing !!

You have all my support about, if you need something to add to the Voyager Application Server let me know.

All the best
Leonardo

Thanks Leo and Gabe! I’m thrilled to know that you all found this bot interesting!