Array or Multi-instance?

I’m new to Voyager as I’m looking to automate my spectroscopy. My question relates to how multi-instance and array operates so I can determine whether either or both meet my needs.

My system is common for simple spectroscopy. I have a science camera to take spectra and a guide camera that guides off a slit mirror - similar to an off axis guider. The slightly unusual element is that my guider manages autofocus and pointing as well as guiding.

Like most software programs, Voyager assumes that the main imaging camera manages autofocus and pointing. Using the trial version, I can’t see how I can reallocate roles between the cameras.

The precision pointing system used by Voyager is excellent! I have a margin of error of 2 pixels in RA and my tests last night indicate that Voyager can handle this which is brilliant.

My thinking is to use 2 instances of Voyager - or the array version - so that I can focus and point with the first instance and the guide and image with the second. I’d use TSX Camera Add On in the first instance and Maxim in the second. Because pointing and guiding don’t occur at the same time and use different programs, I can connect the guide camera twice.

Key to this model is the ability to run both instances concurrently with the first focusing and pointing and then the second taking the science images.

I’ve looked at Master/slave systems previously. The slaved system waits for an image to be started on the master before starting to image on the slave. I need to be able to start imaging when pointing is done but without starting an image in the master.

Do either multi instance or array allow this?

Pete

1 Like

I’ve done a little more research on this - but have yet to reach a conclusion.