Auto Flats process continues endlessly

Hi everyone,

I’m pretty new to Voyager. I have set up an Auto Flat sequence for an LRGB setup using a ASI1600MM-Cool camera. I am using a manual flat panel. My target exposure is 30000 ADU with a 5% allowable error.

The sequence starts normally but the process continues indefinitely. Voyager varies the exposure until it finds the correct one, but then changes it again instead of taking the flat. Has anyone seen this before? What might I be doing wrong?

Thanks,

Glenn

Hello Glenn,

is not a bug … is normal that every times is recalculated exposure. Is not a good idea to stop calcultating exposure time when adu reached.

Your is a linear problem. You ask for a 5% of tollerance and your mean are each time out from 0.8 to 1.9% (yellow warning message in monitor)
The first time you use AutoFlat you must understand about your flat system, probably 5% is to low.
Second thing, if your sensor is big using a ROI of 64x64 pixels to calculate mean of flat is to smaller. Again linear light gradient can change so much the mean with some sensors related to ROI used. Voyager found the calculated mean with ROI to much different (>5%) than mean on all field. Just increase ROI to 128 , 512 or 1024. I think with your sensor 512 could be ok.

This 2 adjustments solve your autoflat.

All the best
LO

PS Forget … Voyager have a safety engine inside each action … there is an embedded timeout threaded in each actions that cannot freeze. At finish of this timeout all action will be killed for timeout and action end. Only DragScript,Sequence,Research&Survey Actions can run forever.

2 Likes

It worked!

I kept the allowable error to 5% but increased the ROI to 512 and then 1024. Both of these worked, but several (to many) attempts were needed to achieve proper exposure.