Power up the equipment at the beginning of imaging session

Hi all, I am new to Voyager and at this moment I have never used it. I am moving my equipment into a remote observatory which I will have to operate via Internet. I understand that with Viking Voyager can operate power switchers like DragoFly and Digital Loggers power switch. I watched videos on DragScript and I see that I can program to switch on the equipment, but it is done by Voyager so, it must be already running on the computer located in the observatory. Does it mean that the computer must be always on? Or, I should go to the power switch first, switch on computer, start Voyager and then it would start running the script?
Thank you,
Grigory Vidishev

Grigory

Yep, Voyager is running on your Remote locally. I have built-in in my observatory that I can wake up the PC with “wake on LAN”, but your PC should support that than you should have something which can trigger the Wake On Lan. I have some friend who have there PC always on. But check if you PC will go on again after a power outage. Its to you how you design and power on all your equipment Viking can help with that but also other methods think of home automation systems. When you PC is running than you can power on also the other equipment via the DragScript but that depend on the capabilities of your equipment

Success

Chris

Thank you Chris. I know that PrimaLuce Eagle 4 has this functionality- Wake On Lan, but I am planning to use an Intel NUC computer. Not sure if it has that ability, although I know that Eagle is based on NUC. Thank you again.
Grigory

2 Likes

Hi Grigory,
You bring up a very good point that I have been struggling with when I was planning my remote observatory about half a year ago. It’s a chicken/egg problem.